Click here to Schedule an Appointment at the HYS Office
Top

Jazz+

Jazz+ Online Learning

Students will explore many forms of contemporary improvised music, practice methods, approaches, and perspectives, as well as the practical applications of music theory and ear training. Guest clinicians will include a broad range of artists, educators, and business people. Students will perform for each other (sometimes together) online as well as collaborate on remote recording projects. No prior experience improvising is required, but simply a willingness to participate and try new things!

WHEN: Sundays, 2:00 – 3:30 pm (updated 8.10.2020)

    • (5:00 p.m. PT/8:00 p.m. ET start time through November 1; then 4:00 p.m. PT/7:00 p.m. ET through March 14, adjusted for DST. No DST observance in Hawaii)

WHO: Students ages 13-18 by 12/31/19 with at least 1 year of private instruction or equivalent. No experience improvising is needed.

COST: $150/semester

FALL Semester: August 16 – December 13, 2020

SPRING Semester: January 10 – May 16, 2020

REGISTRATION DEADLINE: EXTENDED – Thursday, August 20th at 11:59 pm

Instruments accepted:

Drum Set, Keyboard, Bass, Electric Guitar, Saxophone, Trumpet Trombone. (Exceptions for other instruments may be made on an individual basis.)

Jazz+ Faculty

Director, HYS Jazz & Combo I; Jazz+

HYS Jazz - Combo II; Jazz+

Special Guests to Include:

Jazz Trombone

Drum Set & Vibraphone

Jazz Piano

Drum Set & Vibraphone

Saxophone

Enroll in Jazz +